I lost my job so I started a YouTube channel

Penolopie David
3 min readFeb 18, 2021

Why YouTube is important in my bounce back plan

A month ago, I lost my job. My 9–5 job.

I haven’t cried yet. I don’t know if I’m supposed to. I’m actually panicking that I’m not panicking yet because I just lost my sole source of income.

Like most people, this is clearly not a path I would have voluntarily chosen for myself. However, I hear some who can just quit without their next job lined up. Or some who quit to focus on their small business before it has fully taken off. Kudos to them! I’m just saying that I could have never done that. That couldn’t have been me.

Unfortunately, these are the cards I’ve been dealt, and I got no choice but to make the best out of this situation.

I’m going to take this opportunity to explore online courses, read books, and speak to professionals in various companies. I’m going to make sure my next role and my next organization will be a good fit for me.

Of course, I acknowledge that I’m in a fortunate situation where I can choose which job to take (at least for now). I’m very grateful for that.

To document my journey in finding a job, I decided to start a YouTube channel.

I came up with three ways to justify this:

Reason 1: To stay productive

For more than two years, I got a job to keep me busy and make me feel useful. I’m also one of those people who don’t use their vacation days as much. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever had a full week off since late 2018. So this past month, has been strange. It’s weird that I’m not needed, and that my days are not structured anymore. I plan to share my journey to becoming productive while being unemployed

Reason 2 : To practice self-care

Going into 2021, this was actually my biggest new year’s resolution. I’ve been struggling to do this for years. For example, it’s been a month since I lost my job and I can’t help but think like I’m already behind. I feel like I should have completed all these online courses by now, or built a portfolio by now, or have gotten multiple job offers by now. You see. I need to keep my thoughts in check. I need to understand that it’s okay to take it slow sometimes. Of course, I’ll continue to learn but I should be more mindful of how I talk to myself. I plan to share my journey in romanticizing my life.

Reason 3: To build skills

Worst case scenario, no one watches my videos (which is a pro in its own way). However, at least I’m walking away feeling comfortable in front of the camera, or finally learning how to edit a video. Even with zero views I get something out of it.

My plan for the YouTube channel is to post content related to productivity and self-care. I’m not an expert in any of these things. I’m just hoping to inspire someone to follow along this journey with me in figuring out what’s next!

--

--

Penolopie David

a full-time product manager 🚀 who makes remnote tutorial & productivity videos part-time